Real Nappy Week 2022

Reusable Nappy Week takes place every April to promote cloth nappies. Retailers, manufactures, councils and parents get involved to share information on all things cloth nappies and how they can benefit you and your family. Just remember the 3 Bs.

I started using cloth nappies back in 2017 when Austin was born, I remember frantically searching the web for information and advice and feeling really overwhelmed with it all. But i persevered, got myself some nappies and we learnt along the way. I absolutely loved using cloth nappies, there’s something really exciting about saving money and not having to run to the store to get more.

Fast forward 5 years and we’re now using cloths with Alaska. I kept all of Austins nappies just in case we had another baby and that just shows how well they last and how you can really save money and help the environment.

We used the gnappies and lil joeys again when she was newborn and now we are using Bambino Mio all in ones. They was my favourite with Austin and now using them again I remember why I loved them so much. They are just so easy to use, the fact that everything is attached meaning you don’t have to put the nappy liners into the nappy or pop anything together is such a time saver, you can literelly grab your nappy and put it on. The all in ones have different fastenings on the outside meaning these should fit from newborn to toddler. They are super absorbent with leak proof protection and have a stay dry top layer.

They have a really great step by step guide on all the essential things you’ll need to get prepared and ready for your cloth journey, from preparation (I loved doing all of this when pregnant, getting your nappies all washed and ready, nicely stored with a wet bag and cloth wipes so when baby is born you are all ready). To night time nappies (as these can require extra inserts for more absorbency when baby starts sleeping longer).

This page covers every question you may have, Bambino Mio really have gone through every question you may have and thoroughly. I wish I had all this information on one page when I first started researching with Austin.

It’s so lovely seeing cloth nappies used so widely and I see them on a lot more babies now than I did a few years back. You can pick them up in your local Asda, Sainsburys, Tesco, Morrisons, Ocado and Waitrose they really have become so easy to get hold off.

It’s not just nappies either, you can get swim nappies (which I’ve used when they were both babies and neither of them leaked). Also potty training pants and as I’ve mentioned cloth wipes, I love how everything you’re putting on your babies skin is free from any nasties, there are no chemical gels which you can find on ordinary nappies.

It’s never too early or late to start your cloth journey, even making little swaps will help massively and you will definitely notice a change.

You can use my code ‘ALASKA15’ for a discount over at Bambino Mio come join the fun :D!

Leave a comment