Austin Turns 2

I can’t believe how late I am writing this, we’ve been having some tough night times so I’ve been falling asleep with Austin most nights meaning this post has taken a while to write. Tonight however Austin is absolutely exhausted after having a little nap and a crazy busy day, so I’m taking my ‘relax time’ to write this, hope you enjoy.

I probably started thinking about Austins birthday around 6 months prior to his party, just thinking about what we would do, who we would invite and what theme we would have, I decided on an animal theme with Austin being the (safari, park, animal sanctuary ranger) and all his friends dressing as animals.

Austins outfit was such a win for me, the shirt we already had along with shoes and long socks, I found these shorts and belt in the charity shop for a couple of pound along with the hat. I then purchased an iron on jurassic world ranger patch for his hat.

IMG_1784

Next was actually decorating and creating the theme I wanted, I wanted everything to be as eco as possible and I really didn’t want any waste, so planning the decoration was the most important to me.

I managed to make the banner myself along with Austins banner from last year, I also had some fine helping hands that helped decorate the room with some crate paper and jungle drawings. Then I created some jungle juice (sadly this was just apple juice and water).

 

Next up was the cake, I decided I would purchase some cupcakes (Vegan of course) for all the kids as they never finish cake and it becomes waste. Austin’s lovely Nan baked up a yummy Chocolate cake for us Adults and then I made a fruit cake for everyone (Been wanting to make one of these forever and I was so proud of myself haha so easy to do).

I was very kindly gifted lots of yummy snacks from the guys at Babease 100% natural ingredients and organic win win! You can also pick these up in so many stores, Boots, Superdrug, Tesco, Waitrose and Whole foods.

Organix also sent us over some snacks which I put out for all the kids to eat. Now I really like Organix as a company, everything is organic and they have plans in place to be sustainable with all ingredients being sourced responsibly.  You can pick them up in most places, Waitrose, Superdrug, Boots and Ocado to name a few.

We also got some lovely drinks for all the kids from Pip Organic. I absolutely love this company (and Austin) after trying some of their products from our local health store. They are 100% organic with no concentrates, added sugar, sweeteners, preservatives or additives and each serving contributes to one of their 5-a-day. I asked the company about recycling these and they got back to me saying:

Our tetrapak cartons are fully recyclable and the straws should be popped back into the empty carton and recycled as part of the total recycling process – this has been recommended by Tetrapak and WRAP.  Tetrapak cartons are collected for recycling in 94% of UK local authority areas. And if you’re feeling creative you could use them for craft days and art projects. You could even cut the tops off and grow seeds!

IMG_1839

Hope you enjoyed reading this, I’d love to know if any of these tips help or what you come up with 🙂

Now to relax before next years birthday planning happens.

Lucy xo

 

Leave a comment