Night time with a two year old

Just over two weeks and I shall have a 2 year old, I was looking back on my sleep routine from last year with Austin and noticed a few things (not many) that have changed, I asked you guys on Instagram if you’d like to read an updated schedule and you said yes so lets dive in.

It’s 21.30 and Austin went to sleep half hour ago, I have a Malibu in one hand It’s Friday night, you can tell how my week has been XD.

Austin still has one sleep a day he wakes around 8/9am and will nap either around 11am or if we are out which has been most of the week he will nap when we get home about 2pm.

We sit down at the table for dinner around 6.30/7pm, Austin has got pretty good at eating now and will sit with us for food. His favourites are pasta, avocado, hummus and currently carrots.

Whenever that’s finished he will either go in the garden for a little play or we will get straight in the bath. Tonight he had a milk bath as I thought that would be nice for his skin seeing as he is just getting over chickenpox.

After that I usually massage some coconut oil mixed with lavender onto his skin, followed by brushing his hair and teeth. Austin uses a Brush Baby electric toothbrush, we’ve tried bamboo brushes with him but they just don’t seem to do the job and the bristles constantly fall out or cut his gums, I wish there was a more eco thing to use that worked? 

We then head upstairs go to the toilet and into his room so he can pick out some bedtime stories.

We usually get through 4/5 books, he loves reading and is probably trying to stall bedtime too 😛 Once we’ve read the last book we lay down and he will have a feed (Yup still breastfeeding over here). The past week though he has been such a monkey and wants to feed each side, then will sit up start singing twinkle twinkle being all cute getting in my face giving me a kiss. I’ll then tell him right it’s bedtime lay down and try feed him to sleep.

Once he is asleep he will stay down anywhere from 1 hour to 3, when he wakes he has some more milk then back to sleep, I repeat this until I end up falling asleep in his bed.

If Rich is home and I’m struggling to get Austin to sleep he will come rock and sing him to sleep, It’s such a pain as it literally takes Rich 10 minutes to get him to sleep, I don’t know how he does it!

I’d love to know any tips/tricks or If you’re struggling with bedtimes? Babies and toddlers go through so many leaps, regressions, developmental changes even the Full moon. Hang in there, I know it can be tough and seem never ending but sleep cycles will get better.

Lucy xo

 

One thought on “Night time with a two year old

  1. Arthur’s been delaying bed time too! He’s going down a bit later this week around 20:30 – I tend to do his bath around 4:00 some days if he’s got so dirty from playing and then have to do his eczema cream routine. Dinner is usually 18:00ish and same he’ll be out in the garden again – running around the house until he gets tired and falls asleep on my boob!

    Like

Leave a comment