Meet our son <3

Thursday 15th June 2017 / 15.56 / 7lbs 14oz

Austin Kylo Cottell was born.

I never knew what I expected of labour and birth, it wasn’t something I wanted to think about or stress or panic. I had people telling me I needed to prepare myself for it, but i’m glad I didn’t.

Around 7.30 in the morning I was awoken by a big punching feeling in my pelvis (turns out that was my waters breaking).

The period style cramping then began (I had been having these for the past couple of days they weren’t horrendous but were more painful than Braxton hicks). I was beginning to fall to the floor with pain with no rest bite so Rich called the midwives who were with me within half hour.

Quick moment later and turns out I was already 7cm dilated. (Bit of a shock as I didn’t expect everything to go so quickly). We drove straight to the hospital which was the most uncomfortable car ride I have ever experienced XD. I think I was trying to grab hold of the roof and tearing the seatbelt apart ha!

We were taken straight into the delivery suite another check and I was 9 1/2cm dilated! So nearly there! How had I been in labour for 5hrs! I had heard so many people stay in labour for 24hrs + so I was pretty impressed at how my body was coping.

I’m not going to lie it wasn’t comfortable or a breeze but I had such a lovely midwife guiding me through and Rich was there every step of the way. I would not have been able to do it without him!

Active labour was the long part for me as I was pushing for around 2 1/2 hrs but then he made his arrival!

I managed to follow my 0 pain relief rule and I am so proud of myself! My body has coped so well and I recovered almost instantly.

Due to my long active labour little Austin did get a little stressed on the way out and caught a small infection on his lungs resulting in him being rushed straight down to scbu.

I had in my head skin to skin, daddy cutting the umbilical cord and delayed cord clamping, so seeing Austin taken from my arms and rushed away was a pretty traumatic experience.

I had no idea what was going on, what was wrong and I couldn’t leave as I still needed to deliver the placenta and get myself sorted.

5 days of antibiotics and tests we finally got to come home! The team at scbu were incredible and I am so grateful for the time and care my boy received.

Leaving the hospital was an emotional moment, my boy hadn’t yet been outside the hospital walls and I didn’t know life outside of them walls with him. A couple of days later and I am feeling back to normal, it’s so nice to be home with all my comforts and our son ❤

Lucy xo

3 thoughts on “Meet our son <3

  1. Lucy rich. What can I say you have the most beautiful handsome little man that you will love and teach, teach right from wrong and someone who will love and look after you when you need it most. At this age the love and a motion you feel is out of this world. Congratulations to you all lorraine chris maegan and ethan 😘😘😘😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

